Revisiting the Learning Pathway

hitting-the-reset-button

Hitting Reset

I was supposed to have a blog post ready for user experience design this week, but… I don’t have one. (My inner project manager is cringing and shaming…)

I’m in the midst of an internal struggle – the good kind (that eventually accelerates your progress) – but it’s forcing me to reanalyze a few things…

Like:

  • What are the objectives of this blog? Why am I doing this?
  • What career do I want exactly?

What are the objectives of this blog?

I want to connect with people who are looking to do the same thing I’m doing, people who’ve already done it, people with families, people who started off in one career and took a big leap to explore a drastic change.

I want to be able to reflect upon what I’ve learned and document my progress.

That being said, there are things that I’m not currently doing that I should if I want to achieve my objectives. (This is me trying to channel my inner Steve Krug or Joe Natoli…)

My blog posts don’t ask for anything from readers. If I truly want to connect with others, to interact, that needs to be messaged clearly and I need to hear from folks.

I want to get meta with the development of this blog. I’m not sure if it would be interesting for anyone else besides me (Let me know!), but I want to document how the blog has evolved over time.

For instance, I changed the theme of the blog last week. (I can’t remember what it was called…) I’m not thrilled with this theme, but it feels closer to what I want. I know that as my skills develop, I’ll be able to make the changes I want to see (and I’m not sweatin’ it until I do).

What career do I want?

I completed the “Roadmap to Your Dream Job” exercise by Skillcrush. I walked away from that exercise feeling like my ideal career is one of the following:

  • UX Designer, Developer or Analyst
  • Ruby or Javascript Developer
  • Front-end Developer
  • Customer Success or Happiness Engineer

Has anyone else done that exercise before (or something like it)? What did you think about it?

Leave a Reply

