Defining the Learning Pathway

Resource for Defining the Path

I took a free webinar through Skillcrush that provides strategies for earning money while you learn, as well as opportunities to work remotely. The guide is really helpful. I highly recommend subscribing!

(By the way, in order to link that Skillcrush PDF, I discovered that you have to only select the PDF link up to “.pdf” and paste that into the anchor tag. Figured that out on my own!)

pdf_link

The Recommended Pathway

  1. Get some design skills under your belt.
  2. Get coding skills under your belt.
    • I’ve purchased a few courses (for free) from Udemy on HTML5 and CSS3.
    • I’ve written these blog posts solely in HTML view! If I don’t know how to do something, I look it up! (The exception thus far has been when importing photos, which isn’t a clear process through WP… yet.
  3. Apply newly acquired skills to learning about mobile development.
    • Will need to take a course.
  4. Get some WordPress skills!
    • Already started! 🙂
    • Will need to take a course.
  5. Get some JavaScript, jQuery, and API skills.
    • Will need to take a course.
  6. Get some Ruby skills.

My Timeline

For a variety of reasons, I’ve established a timeline of 18 months to do all of this. This is because yesterday I found out that I’m… pregnant. That’s child #3 for me – totally unplanned. We are thrilled and it accelerates our plans for the future (as well as my priorities cited in an earlier post).

In order for this to happen, I need to map out a timeline for each step of the process….

New Skill: HTML: Identifying links for anchor tag

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

