Backstory & Purpose

I’ve been in education for 8 years. The field has provided me with incredible opportunities, skills and experiences. While there are elements of teaching and education that I love and find deeply rewarding, it fits me like a suit that’s too big. I make adjustments here and there – try different shoes, cuff and uncuff, button and unbutton – it never seems to fit quite right.

I’ve come to this conclusion several times over the years, but have never done much about it.

I’ve dabbled in programming, but have not been able to get over the hump – going beyond self-directed free classes a few Saturdays a month.

Part of it is because I’m still trying to figure out what I want to do.

These “needs” (or “wants” that I’m dressing up as “needs” in case it improves their chances) have remained consistent over the years:

  • I need to create – to design, develop, demonstrate, dissect and repeat. Projects make me happy.
  • I need the flexibility to work remotely. I want to be able to work from home, an office, a cafe or the beach.
  • I need to be able to live in any state and earn enough to support my family. That includes owning a home.
  • I need a working environment that is aligned with my authentic self – my principles, my personality, and my preferences.

I believe a career in web development or design can offer this. I need to prioritize learning more so I can find my niche.

Leave a Reply

